Press "Enter" to skip to content

Malaysia Formally Turnovers The SEA Games’ Flame To Philippines

Malaysia had officially turned over the Southeast Asian Games’ flame to the Philippines’ games committee on Thursday, October 3, in a ceremony held at the Bukit Jalil National Stadium, the venue where the cauldron of the Games’ 29th edition was also lighted.

The responsibility of hosting comes

President Norza Zakaria of the Olympic Council of Malaysia had presented the flame in a ceremonial lighting of the lantern to the Philippine Olympic Committee (POC) represented by one of its board members and the chairman of the POC women in sports committee, Cynthia Carrion. The event was also witnessed by Nikko Huelgas, president of the Philippine Athletes Commission, Philippine South East Asian Games Organizing Committee chief operating officer Ramon Suzara, Philippine Sports Commission’s commissioner Dr. Celia Kiram, and Malaysian Sports Minister Syed Saddiq Syed Abdul Rahman.

Malaysia Formally Turnovers The SEA Games' Flame To Philippines 1
CNN Philippines

“As we receive the flame from Malaysia, we also receive the responsibilities that comes with hosting the flame in our country, ” Kiram said.

The lantern carrying the flame from Kuala Lumpur will be brought to the Philippines, setting off the torch run activities that will be held in various parts of the country, such as Davao City, Cebu City and Clark.

This will also be presented to the House of Representatives, the Senate and the Malacanang Palace.

SEA Games’ Torch inspired by Sampaguita

“The flame handover is an important symbolic ceremony showing the turnover of responsibilities from past host to present,” PHISGOC ceremonies director Mike Aguilar said.

Aguilar added that torch run activities will also be held in various parts of the country, such as Davao, Cebu, Clark and at the Senate, Congress, and Malacañang in Manila.

Malaysia Formally Turnovers The SEA Games' Flame To Philippines 2

The official torch for the 30th SEA Games portrayed the national symbols of the Philippines such as having unity, celebrating a common message of sportsmanship, athletic superiority and artistic achievements, which was designed by the country’s foremost metal sculptor, Daniel dela Cruz.

His torch design for the 30th SEA Games, which is a stylized interpretation and inspired by our Philippine national flower, sampaguita, symbolizes purity, simplicity, humility, and strength.

11 nations at Manila

There are 11 nations that will compete on November 30 to December 11 in the games’ 56 sports which will be spread out over four main venues in Clark, Subic, Manila and Tagaytay. These countries are Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Timor Leste and Vietnam.

Malaysia Formally Turnovers The SEA Games' Flame To Philippines 3

Aside from local governments and other organizations, 30th SEA Games hosting is supported by:

Platinum sponsors – Ajinomoto, Philippine Amusement and Gaming Corporation, MG Cars, Philippine Airlines, Skyworth and CooCaa.

Gold Sponsors – MasterCard, Milo, Pocari Sweat, North Luzon Expressway, PInco and Rzaer.

Preferred partners – Asics, SM Lifestyle Inc. and BMW.

Prestige partners – Molten and Mikasa.

Banking partners – Chinabank and PNB.

Media partners – Bombo Radyo, Star FM and the Inquirer Group, CNN, United Neon and DOOH.

Host broadcaster– NEP.

Official broadcaster – Sports and Action, TV 5, Cignal, ESPN and PTV 4.

Source: Abs-Cbn

%d bloggers like this: